And so it begins….

This is my very first attempt at blogging and I am very excited about the prospect of writing out all the thoughts that run around in my head throughout the day. I used to dream about one day becoming a writer, but somewhere along the way, that dream got forgotten. School got in the way, than marriage (ok maybe that’s not a good way of putting that, but you understand what I mean), than kids. I wanted to write romance novels, since that was the genre that I tended to gravitate towards as an avid reader. Not the trashy kind that you find at garage sales, the nice kind without all the unnecessary details. But now, here I am, attempting to write out some of my thoughts instead of writing a romance novel, or any kind of novel for that matter.

Before starting this blog, I did some research about blogging and the most common piece of advice that came up, was to stick with a theme. I have zero intentions of sticking with one theme. Unless of course you can count LIFE as a theme. This blog will include posts about my children, husband, family, faith, hobbies, skills and serious lack thereof, dreams, goals, (getting a little deep here), etc. You get the idea. I am incapable of staying within a set goal. If this prevents me from attracting a wide variety of readers, then I suppose that’s how it will just have to be. If life was themed and stuck within that theme, it would be much simpler for me to stick within that one theme as well. But it’s not. Life is messy and full of spice and variety. I hope that my blog is full of the same….spice and variety.

Some people might wonder at my choice of user name, so I will take a minute to explain…

I LOVE Jane Austin’s books. I have lost count of how many times I have read ‘Pride and Prejudice’. There is a line in that book that always makes me laugh, but not for the reason that you think. Mr. Bingley’s sister makes a comment about Elizabeth looking positively medieval because the hem of her dress is dirty from her walk through the fields to their house. I love this line. Yes it shows how snobby and judgemental Caroline, the sister, is, but that’s not why I love it. I love it because it reminds me of me! I would be that girl…. not the snobby one (at least I hope not), but Elizabeth.

There’s nothing I hate more than dressing up. When I was in elementary school, I attended a school that required girls to wear dresses. This was a constant battle for me, as I detested them. And yes, detested is a very strong word and most definitely applies. To this day I feel sorry for my Mom who had to put up with my intense disliking for all things dresses. Those feelings about dresses, and just dressing up at all, have continued. I still dread fancy occasions where I have to dust off my one dress and attempt to look pretty. I am much more comfortable in jeans and a t-shirt, and a sweatshirt when it’s cold. That is who I am. And that is why that line in ‘Pride and Prejudice’ makes me smile. I am Elizabeth. I am looking positively medieval. I don’t dress up and I don’t wear make-up.

So that is my beginning. A bit rough. But I will catch on to this whole blogging thing. Just give me some time and your patience.

3 Comments

  1. Welcome to the blogging world! I hope you love it! I am totally in agreement about that whole theme thing. Life is the theme. And it’s always exciting and crazy and worth writing about. So go for it. Be random. Be deep and/or funny when you feel like it. Be yourself. Use this to develop your “voice”; it’s great practice for that someday novel.

  2. Lindsay

    I look forward to reading your blogs! Keep it up. Ps. Love the user name

  3. Samantha

    Congrats Johanna. I will look forward to reading and your username is great!

Leave a Reply

