It’s the Little Things That Matter

I have been working on a project that I am SO excited about and just had to share with you. I got the inspiration for it from another blog, and the minute I saw it, I knew I had to make it as well. It has taken nearly all my time lately and I love every minute of it. I have been scrapbooking for the last three years and I love doing it, but this idea enabled me to combine my love of scrapbooking with my love for writing and reminiscing.
It is called Project Life and is a collection of things that we have done, said, or seen each week throughout the year. I decided to start this project a few weeks ago, but as you all know, we are already quite a few weeks into the year. Therefore, I had to go back about sixteen weeks to figure out what we had done. This was a huge job. I went through all our pictures from both the camera as well as our phones to get an idea of what we had done. I also looked back through the calendar. I organized each week with pictures and write-ups of the things that had happened to us since the beginning of 2012, than put them into plastic page protectors and into an album. I only have a few weeks left to catch up on now and we have already spent a lot of time looking through and remembering special moments.
The reason that I wanted to do it this year and not just save it for next year is because Carter has just started talking a lot more and the things that he says and does are so funny and cute that we want to remember them. Also, as many of you already know, we had a baby at the beginning of this year. Having her has been such an amazing change for us and I wanted to include her birth in my year. Once you have children, time flies. We have to make efforts to preserve the special times in our lives and remember them.
Please do not think that you have to be a scrap booker or at all crafty to do this project. I am doing mine in a scrapbooking style, but you could just jot down some notes and take some pictures for your week and add them to an album. The idea is that you will be able to look back on it in a few years and read about the things you did that week or maybe even what the weather was like at a certain time. I especially look forward to going through it someday and reading and seeing about the things that my kids did while they were small. It’s these moments that I want to record. I want to remember the things they said years from now. We always think that we will remember the funny things they say or do or the special moments that we have with them, but we don’t. This is such a great way to help jog our memories and a fantastic way to walk down memory lane.

Leave a Reply

