The Velvet, Turquoise, Zebra Print Jumpsuit

I do not like following trends with fashion. I have never cared very much about what I was wearing or how I looked. To me, it’s all about comfort. If I am going to wear something for more than a few hours, I want it to be comfortable. This is not to say that I will go out in whatever I happen to find in my closet. I don’t like the idea of standing out. I do occasionally attempt to look nice and I try to blend in with the crowds as much as possible. So, I can most often be seen in jeans and a t-shirt or a sweatshirt depending on how cold it is.

Because I am obviously not a fashion expert, I try my best not to judge others on their choices in clothing either, but I happened to notice something while I was out the other day. There is no longer any sense of style for a lot of people. Yes, there were some people who looked amazing and put-together (if I saw you there, I’m sure I thought you looked great!) But for the most part, it appeared, anything goes. And I mean ANYTHING. If you feel like wearing your pajamas and a top that leaves very little to the imagination when you go out and do your groceries, that’s just fine …. apparently. If you want to wear a jumpsuit made entirely from velvet in a turquoise zebra print pattern when you go out to eat, knock yourself out. It no longer matters what you wear or how you wear it. If I so much as wear two different coloured socks, I feel as though everyone in the world is looking at me (and believe me when I say that this NEVER happens to me).

One particular individual had put together the following outfit (I kid you not): glass high heals that lit up as she walked (light up shoes are great: if you’re under the age of seven), purple socks with black polka dots (perhaps to match the purple and pink streaks in her hair), black leggings, a purple mini-skirt (very, VERY mini… I was appreciative of the leggings in that regard), all together with a neon green hoodie that matched her neon green hoop earrings. Congratulations, you made it into my blog. I applaud your individuality and lack of full length mirrors in your house. I don’t understand how some people are completely oblivious to the fact that other people just might see them and wonder what they were thinking. I do not want to be rude, I just can’t seem to wrap my mind around this phenomenon of wearing anything. Perhaps it has something to do with the celebrities and their interesting statements in fashion….Lady Gaga for example. I’ll stop myself now from getting into that or you could be reading a novel.

So I have to ask…. is it alright to wear absolutely anything now? Has society collapsed so much that it no longer matters how you look as long as you feel you look presentable? And lastly, do you really think you look presentable?

 

PS. Where would one purchase a velvet jumpsuit in a turquoise zebra print anyways???

1 Comment

  1. I just popped in here wondering why you hadn’t posted anything – and then realized you HAD and I just missed it! I’ve enjoyed a few minutes of looking through what I missed. 🙂 And now I’m officially following you, so I shouldn’t get so far behind again.

Leave a Reply

