Oooops

I am one of those crazy people who becomes totally and completely involved in the lives of the characters from the books I am reading. This is most likely one of the reasons that I have a difficult time putting a book down once I’ve picked it up. This is also the reason for the bizarre post that caused a mild panic among those that are close to me.

A few nights ago I had been reading the novel, “The Invisible Bridge” by Julie Orringer. It is the story of a young man, a Jewish Hungarian, who travels to Paris for school, where he meets someone. However, it’s the year 1937 and he is not there long before he is forced, due to number of circumstances, to return home due to the start of the war. The book then proceeds to describe Andras’, the protagonist, life as he falls in love and later, as he is sent away to labour for the Nazis.  For those of you that take books to heart and become bothered by horrific, traumatic events: DO NOT READ THIS BOOK. I laid awake for hours that night going over the things that were happening to Andras. I finally abandoned my futile attempts at sleep and wrote out the thoughts that were raging wildly in my head. The problem was that it was one o’clock in the morning and I was no longer thinking clearly from a lack of sleep and a mind focused elsewhere. I neglected to mention in the post that I was writing in response to the events taking place in the novel. Once I had finished writing and publishing the post, I was able to go back to bed and to sleep. I woke later that morning to three missed calls, a panicky text message, and many messages on Facebook. Oooops. Apparently I gave people the wrong impression. I had written a heartfelt plea (from the protagonist’s perspective), but neglected to mention that it was not a plea on my behalf. I had become so entrenched in the story, that I had forgotten that not everyone would know what I was referring to.

Please don’t misunderstand me, I LOVED this book. It has caused me to laugh, cry, smile, and burn with anger at different moments through out. This, to me, is essential when I read a book, and this one fits the bill perfectly. In fact, I have become so involved in it, that my husband has to wait for me to put the book down before he dares to speak to me. He knows that if he attempted to discuss something with me while I was reading it, not only would I not hear a word that he was saying, but I wouldn’t even have the slightest idea that he was talking. The author did a wonderful job of this book. I felt as though I was living alongside Andras and his friends and family and that I was struggling with and experiencing the same things as him.

I highly recommend this book. It opened my eyes to another perspective of the war. I felt, after studying the Second World War in university, that I knew all there was to know. I was so very wrong!

Leave a Reply

